What color is happy?

I’ve been thinking a lot about color today.  I don’t know about you, but I really do think that color influences me in a lot of ways. When I got my first “grown-up” apartment (the nice one in the decent neighborhood) I undertook decorating it in what I considered a “grown-up” fashion. I started with a great rug I found on sale. The colors were a little dark, and not necessarily what I would have chosen, but it was a really nice rug. So I got couch covers, and art, and curtains, and even, come Christmas, tree decorations all to match. I thought it was quite put-together. And I was miserable.  After about 6 months it finally hit me that I couldn’t stand any of it!  I got rid of everything. I switched out my nice rug for a cheap one with bright blues and greens, and followed suit throughout the apartment. I was amazed at the difference it made in my mood on a daily basis.  I’ve found this to be true again and again in my life. So now that I’m doing a little redecorating I’m excited about the colors I can bring into my home!

2 Responses

  1. Colors have a huge effect on my mood! http://www.amazon.com/Many-Colored-Days-Dr-Seuss/dp/0679875972/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1240495011&sr=8-1

    This book is a cool way to think about emotions and colors. It’s for kids, but I love it, too! And I like that it flips colors around a bit–like blue is happy.

    I love your blog!!!

  2. Thanks Caitlin! I love Dr. Seuss and completely agree – blue can be happy :).

Leave a Reply

