Daily Blossom

 

green-flower

This morning I’m sharing a picture of a flower brooch I made using a vintage scarf and some sparklies.  On St. Patricks Day I woke up with nothing green (and short sleeved – March is practically mid-summer in Texas) to wear. The day before I had been to the City-Wide Garage Sale and picked up a couple of vintage scarves for 50 cents each. I had no idea at the time what I was going to do with them, but on Monday morning, as I considered how likely it was I’d get pinched at the office (not at all) and weighed that against my fear of getting pinched for not wearing green (thanks to public schools) I decided I had to do something. I grabbed the green striped scarf and considered how to incorporate it into my outfit. While I was messing with it I had the idea of turning it into a flower. I grabbed my needle and thread (yes, this was right about the time I should have been walking out the door to go to work) and quickly stitched it up. I pinned it to my shirt with a sparky flower brooch, and viola, an idea was born.  This picture is of me wearing the brooch that day. This same flower can be found in my Etsy shop, in a slightly altered format.   The City-Wide was this past weekend, and I ended up buying more scarves, so I’ll definitley have more flowers up soon!

Have a great Thursday everyone!

5 Responses

  1. Flower scarf (Scarf flower?) is fabulous!!! Love the brooch :o)

    • Thank you! I’ve got some beautiful scarves I’m working on to make more. I’ll let you know when they’re up!

  2. So pretty. And a great take on the daily blossom!

  3. […] of flower-making. If you’ve had a chance to look at my Etsy store or last Thursday’s Daily Blossom you’ve seen the earliest examples of the flower brooches I’m making out of scarves. I […]

Leave a Reply

