Yardsale Treasures


yardsale finds, originally uploaded by blossomdaily.

Although we had originally planned to spend Saturday morning at the movies, when I wandered onto Craigslist and saw all of the garage sales going on, I proposed a change of plans. My husband and sister were more than happy to postpone Star Trek till Sunday, and we set out Saturday morning around 8am, armed with kolaches and little money, to see what we could find. For five hours we drove around southwest Austin, going from one neighborhood sale to the next (seriously, there were more than 10 neighborhood sales just in our part of town, despite the threat of rain). I am so tickled with my finds. In addition to all of the goodies in the picture above (I finally got on flickr, and I’ve added tags to this photo – click on it for more information!) I found a sewing desk for $20, and my husband found a leather footstool for $10. He also found his favorite childhood toy, a Micronauts play set, brand new, still in the package, for a quarter. He was completely beside himself! All in all it was a fabulous day! At our last neighborhood the impending storm finally broke, and we had to call it quits. We were meeting some friends for a cookout at a park, but the rain sent us indoors, for Mexican food (of course). All in all it was a great day!

Leave a Reply

