Brownies!

I’ve been somewhat obsessed with brownies of late. My house smells like chocolate most evenings, and I think my husband is addicted. I’ve tried a lot of brownie recipes, and determined that there are no bad brownies! Several times I thought a batch was ruined, only to take that test bite a few hours later (I’ve been refrigerating mine for extra fudginess) and find out they’re terrific! My favorites so far, and my husband’s favorite, is one such batch. Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everythingbrownie recipe was our ultimate favorite! I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9×13 pan, so the brownies are a bit thicker than if you followed the original recipe and made them in the 8×8 pan. Here is the recipe, doubled for the 9×13 pan.  The original amounts and measurements have been stricken through, and my changes are in brackets.  And by the way, if you haven’t tried the non-stick aluminum foil, you must get some NOW! This is the most awesome stuff! I won’t ever bake without it again!

8 [16] tablespoons (1 [2] sticks) unsalted butter plus a little softened butter for the pan
3 [6] ounces unsweetened chocolate, roughly chopped
1 [2] cups sugar
2 [4] eggs
1/2 [1] cup all-purpose flour
Pinch salt
1/2 [1] teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Heat the oven to 350°F. Grease an [9×13] 8- or 9-inch square baking pan with butter or line it with aluminumfoil and grease the foil. [use nonstick aluminum foil and don’t bother with the butter!]

2. Combine the butter and chocolate in a small saucepan over very low heat, stirring occasionally. When the chocolate is just about melted, remove from the heat and continue to stir until the mixture is smooth.

3. Transfer the mixture to a bowl and stir in the sugar. Then beat in the eggs, one at a time. Gently stir in the flour, salt, and vanilla. Pour and scrape into the prepared pan and bake until just barely set in the middle, 20 to 25 [30-35] minutes. It’s better to underbake brownies than to overbake them. [I cooked them until a toothpick inserted in the middle came out with gooey bits on it, instead of just coated with batter] Cool on a rack before cutting. Store, covered, at room temperature, for no more than a day. [OR, refrigerate immediately and eat chilled]

Enjoy!

One Response

  1. Please bring me brownies!

Leave a Reply

