Daily Blossom

MaryMacDonald_-_The_May_Queen_1900

Hi everyone, I hope your week is shaping up well. Today’s blossom is not literally a flower, but more about personal flourishing. The book The May Queen: Women on Life, Love, Work, and Pulling it All Together in Your 30s has been on my bookshelf since it came out. I’ve picked it up, and put it down, and finally shelved it for another day. I think that day is today! As someone who feels like things are coming together much more in my 30s than they did in my 20s, I’m inspired to find other women who’ve had the same experience. I’ll let you know how the book is!  By the way, the image above is by Mary Macdonald (Mackintosh), a brilliant Scottish artist who married architect Charles Rennie Mackintosh, was celebrated widely in her time, contributed much to her husband’s work, but unfortunately became a bit of a “marginalized wife” as art history remembered her husband, but not so much her. She created several large, gessoed panels depicting the subject of the May Queen. I think my favorite is the one above, done in 1900.

Leave a Reply

