Daily Blossom

photo from wildflower.org

photo from wildflower.org

More flowers for next-year’s garden!  Texas honeysuckle is a native alternative to the more invasive Japanese honeysuckle that I’m more familiar with. Honeysuckle was one of my favorite flowers growing up, and this seems like a much easier and smarter choice, as it’s non invasive and usually is about a 4 foot shrub, reaching up to 10 ft occasionally. Japanese honeysuckle can climb and trail up to 80 feet and often kills small trees!   So it’s Texas honeysuckle for me!

Photo from aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu

Photo from aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu

Another flowering plant that thrives here in central Texas is Pride of Barbados. My mom introduced me to this one – she has some incredible plants in her yard. They’re about five feet tall, and as you can see above, the butterflies love them! She’s going to start some seedlings for me next spring! I can’t wait to have some of these beauties at my house!

2 Responses

  1. So funny, we bought Japanese honeysuckle this year because they told us it was less invasive than native. It was doing great and then all of the sudden it died. I plan to go back to the nursery where I bought it discuss further. We also have pride of Barbados and love them. We plan to take the seed pods and plant them all over our lower back yard.

  2. Look that those beautiful flowers! Makes me smile. 🙂 Have a lovely merry happy day and love to you!

Leave a Reply

