Daily Blossom

Geoffrey Beene Dress, originally published in Taxi Magazine in 1989, reprinted in Style Dictionary, 1996

This week the hubby & I got a new toy – a button maker – just like this one.   We’re having a great time making buttons out of old comic books and random illustrations.  Last night I was looking through my bookshelves for any books with interesting illustrations that I was OK with cutting up a bit. (Not that I regularly cut up my books, but I do sometimes buy discount books just for the pictures. Oh, and I was really excited about our new gadget!)

I pulled out Style Dictionary by Ruben Toledo, which I picked up at Half Price Books a while back. (Ruben Toledo is married to Isabel Toledo who designed Michelle Obama’s inauguration dress.) Since I got it from the collectibles section of the store I thought I’d check online before cutting it up, in case it was rare or valuable or something.  When I saw how much used copies were selling for on Amazon, I immediately thought I’d sell it, but now I just don’t think I can. I’ve whittled down my personal library to only ONE bookshelf (a feat, let me tell you) and all the books that are left are ones I love. This one is filled with amazing illustrations – half fashion design ABC’s, and half fashion illustrations from magazines. The one above is titled “Geoffrey Beene Dress.” Isn’t it lovely?

Leave a Reply

