Daily Blossom


“Power Paisley” by Heather Dutton, available on Spoonflower

About three years ago I spent some time online looking for ways to get custom fabric printed. My sister is an artist, and I’m a crafter, and I thought it would be cool if we could somehow design our own fabric for sewing projects.
At the time the information I found involved ordering large quantities of fabrics and very high prices, dealing with manufacturers who were not small business friendly. Thanks to digital printing, today if you google “custom fabric printing”  the first page of results brings up options for custom printed designs, using your images, on any kind of fabric you can think of, at price points from $17 per yard to $150 per yard.


“The Yellow Wallpaper” by Sarah, aka totallysevere, available on Spoonflower.

I think I’ll be trying out Spoonflower when I get ready to design my own fabric. The images here are all fabrics designed by independent designers who have chosen to have their designs available to the public on the shop portion of the website.  When I’m ready I’ll also be reading up a bit on fabric design to maximize my beginner’s attempt. I found some great articles on the blog Mamma Made to walk me (or you…) through the whole process.  What do you think?  What fabric design would you create? What project would you make with your own fabric? 


“Evotree Number Twenty Six” by Jonathan McCabe, available on Spoonflower

One Response

  1. It’s great to see what mood just the color yellow can create. As being a synesthesian artist I live a life in colors. Synesthesia means that I see colors when I see words and numbers.I transform this in paintings of names and birthdays.

Leave a Reply

