Daily Blossom

Embroidery is my go-to quick fix when I just need some color in my life. I love that I can add bright spots to boring clothes, and create everything from ridiculously cute baby gifts to cool tees for my hubby to cheery dishtowels to unique cards (yes! you can embroider paper!).  The designs above are from Sublime Stitching, who happened to be my earliest introduction to the Austin craft scene before I even moved here.  I knew when I saw Jenny Hart’s patterns that Austin would be a good place for me. I have ALMOST all of her patterns, though I haven’t been stitching as much lately so now I buy about 5 new patterns of hers each year. 

If I’m feeling more wool than cotton I pull out crewel embroidery patterns from Wool & Hoop.  It took me a while to find the wool in shops in my area, but once I did I stocked up. Of course, you could go about it the easy way and just buy all of your supplies online from Wool & HoopKatherine Shaughnessy, the artist behind Wool & Hoop, has free patterns for the designs below available online from Craftzine.com.

 

If you poke around online a bit you can find loads of great embroidery patterns. It’s a great hobby to pick up – cheap to get started, quick to finish, and as practical or whimsical as you want.

Leave a Reply

