Blossom Vinegar

I splurged this past weekend on several magazines. OK, I guess it’s not a splurge if you do it every month…have I mentioned I have a magazine addiction? I was savoring the June British Country Living on my little holiday yesterday when I came across an article on edible flowers. I have to admit, I haven’t eaten a lot of flowers. Rose petals and syrup, orange blossom water and lavender flowers are about it. And really, I only enjoyed the lavender – it’s a fantastic addition to blackberry cobbler – mix it in with the sugar and I like to run both through a food processor to chop up the lavender a bit.  That said, this vinegar looks beautiful and with orange zest and sage as primary flavors it sounds quite intriguing!  If you try it let me know what you think!

Blossom Vinegar (paraphrased from June 2010 Country Living British Edition, pg 148)

This recipe is based on a southern Italian salad vinager called vinagre de fiori. The recipe calls for highly scented edible flowers, and suitable blossoms listed are: rose, violet, thyme, rosemary, marigold, oregano and citrus.

Makes 1 liter
1 liter white wine vinegar
zest of one orange
small sprig sage
2-3 handfuls highly scented edible flowers

In a saucepan, bring the vinegar to a boil with the orange zest and sage, then leave to cool. Pack the blossoms into a sterilized jar and add the cooled vinegar. Seal and set aside for a week to develop flavor and fragrance. Strain and rebottle.

For a vinaigrette to use with roasted red peppers or a seafood salad, whisk this vinegar with a “gentle” extra virgin olive oil, a pinch of sea salt and a drizzle of blossom honey.  Basic vinaigrette proportions are 3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar.

Have a great week everyone!

One Response

  1. Lovely idea! I cannot wait to try this myself.

Leave a Reply

