mmmmm…..tomatoes…..

Doesn’t this photo just make your mouth water? It’s from Amy Goldman’s The Heirloom Tomato (found via Bay Area Bites). Between thinking about summer (and the end of summer) and picking up another fun book, Canning for a New Generation by Liana Krissoff, I’ve been ruminating on tomatoes for a while now. 

When I think of canning I think of salsa. I know, not the most traditional thing to think of, but the reason is a great one. For years my grandmother put up jars and jars of salsa every summer.  This salsa is cooked, with a little kick but not too much, and just a bit sweet. My version is not quite as sweet, and a little spicier, but very similar. And I feel proud to say that I’ve eaten at a few fairly authentic Mexican places (now that I’m in Texas) that have a similar salsa. At Grandma’s house we pulled out a jar of salsa every time we visited, and that jar was completely cleaned out by the end of the day. 

I don’t know that I’ll ever preserve as much food as my grandmother did. But I have to admit it’s a pretty cool thing to have jars of salsa or jam, that you made with your own two hands, stacked prettily in the pantry waiting to be taken down and enjoyed or given away for a loved one to enjoy. If food is love then preserving makes that love last, and that’s a pretty cool thing.

Leave a Reply

