Golden Gazpacho

A friend at work was raving about a gazpacho recipe she tried this week. She sent it to me yesterday and I’m picking up some tomatoes this weekend to try it out. I’m going to try it without the olive oil (I know – sacreligious, but we’re watching the fat very closely at home these days) and see how yummy it is. The original recipe is from Women’s Health and can be found online here: http://recipes.womenshealthmag.com/Recipe/blender-golden-gazpacho.aspx. I’m including Kat’s notes on her tweaks. If you try it let me know what you think!

In a blender combine and puree:

5 medium yellow or orange tomatoes (Kat used cherry tomatoes, but suggested peeling and seeding if you use full size ones)
1 1/2 cup chopped seeded cucumber
1/2 cup chopped green pepper
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1 teaspoon minced garlic clove
1 teaspoon seeded minced jalapeno
1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sherry vinegar (substituted rice wine vinegar)

Serve chilled with diced avacado ( and/or toasty garlicky croutons)

I like my gazpacho with a combination of a smooth puree and some toothy chunks of veggies, so I’ll be chopping some extra tomatoes, peppers and cukes. I’ll let you know how it turns out! Happy weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

