Family Ties

"Solace" by my sister, Abigail Murray, at http://www.violetbloomart.com

Hi everyone. Sorry for my disappearance – missed blogging, that’s for sure! Unfortunately we had a couple of deaths in my husband’s family, so my time has been spent offline with family, celebrating the lives of two wonderful aunts, and taking comfort in having a close-knit family for support.

These past couple of weeks really emphasized to me the importance of family. When I was a kid my dad always told my siblings and I, “be nice to your sisters and brother, they’ll be the only constants your whole life. No matter what else happens, they will always be there, and they’ll be your best friends.”  It took years for that to sink in, and a lot of experiences to truly believe it, but here I am, headed towards middle age (gasp!) and I really do know in my heart that my family is the most important thing in my life. Through the years I also have come to understand that it’s not that way for everyone. I feel very lucky that I got that with my own family, and when I married my sweet hubby I gained a big, close, supportive family that truly considers me one of their own. I hope that all of you have some family in your lives (whether blood related, adopted, or gathered) that can provide you solace when you need it.

Leave a Reply

