Suspended Animation

Hmmm, yes, it’s been quite some time since I posted. I’m not where my online life will go in the future, but I wanted to leave anyone still stopping by a “see you later” note.

First, the chai recipe. OK, this is a little foggy as it’s been a few months, but the general recipe is pretty similar to what you’ll find online in lots of places. I’d say if you know you really like, or really don’t like specific spices you should adjust as needed. It’s pretty hard to make a sweet spiced tea that is bad using these spices.  To start peel your ginger (you’ll need a 1/2 – 2 inch piece, depending on how much you’re making and how ginger-y you want it to be. Use the edge of a spoon to peel it, then you’ll need to smash it a bit (I use a mortar and pestle). Put the ginger and your whole dry spices in a coffee filter. We used cinnamon sticks broken into pieces, cloves, green cardamom, star anise and black peppercorns. Simmer the spices and your black tea in a saucepan of water for at least 20 minutes, and longer if you’d like your mix to be stronger. Remove the spices and teabags, sweeten liberally, mix about 1/2 and 1/2 with hot milk, and there you have it. (this is also super-yummy chilled with milk!)

OK, I feel better now.

I guess the only other thing I really need to say is thank you so much, my few readers. I do think I’ll be back online at some point in the future, probably at homeanddryblog but for now my energies are needed offline. I wish you all good things.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

